Rick’s running, part 2

rickpourri
Back in January I scooped the councillor’s buddy at the Ottawa Sun – RC is going for a 17th consecutive term!
candidate
Those in the development industry consider him the perfect candidate.
smell-bad-holding-nose
Others are not so sure.
rickbusy
rickplaymate
Will Rick win again by acclamation, like in 2003?
What-makes-a-politician-corrupt
Nope! I threw my hat in the ring today. Cost me $100 (tax included). Small price to pay to defend democracy in Bells Corners!
college
Ha! Ha! The City got my Facebook and Youtube links WRONG!
popeye2
In spite of what the City site says – this French Popeye dude is NOT me!
biketaxiyoutube
And how come the Youtube link on the Elections-Ottawa site is also screwed up?

Sabotage or honest screw-up? Maybe both? 🙂
judge1
YOU be the judge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rick’s running, part 2

  1. ottawaowl says:

    OMG, I’m ahead 6-0 in the poll. Would that democracy were so simple. 😦

  2. Luke Chadwick says:

    If I lived in BC I would vote for you…anybody but Rick. Good luck and I’m sure there will be some shenanigans from him. Make sure you protect any websites that are remotely close to the website you use. Here in Kanata, a former City of Kanata councillor tried that when he ran for City of Ottawa council.

    – I’m not going to protect any websites because that would cost money and violate one of the most important principles of my zero-means-zero campaign: not spending a single penny to get elected and not accepting a single penny once in office.
    3432162
    I salute Councillor Mark Taylor for turning down the annual $6000 politician’s car allowance as a gesture of solidarity with the long-suffering taxpayer. I’m going to carry it to the next level by returning my ENTIRE six-figure salary to the taxpayer. Same goes for the pension plan, the $250K annual office budget and all the other trappings of power.

  3. margaret says:

    so what are the correct youtube and facebook sites? your potential voters deserve the full deal

    – It’s fixed! 🙂 I got the email below plus all sorts of other City goodies: maps, a database I can use for my robocalls, etc.

    Good morning Craig,

    Please be aware that changes were made to http://www.ottawa.ca/vote . The links that were provided below were posted earlier this morning.

    Sincerely,

    City of Ottawa / Ville d’Ottawa
    Elections Office / Bureau des élections
    1221 Cyrville Road, Unit B / 1221, chemin Cyrville, unité B
    Ottawa, ON K1J 7S8 / Ottawa (Ontario) K1J 7S8
    Mail Code / Code d’envoi: 331
    Tel / Tél: 613-580-2424 ext. / poste 44430
    Fax / Téléc: 613-580-2661
    @ottawavote / @ottawavotez

    —–Original Message—–
    From: hibou
    Sent: Wednesday, May 21, 2014 5:15 PM
    To: Elections
    Subject: links for Craig MacAulay, ward 8

    Facebook link (My Facebook identity is Le Hibou)
    https://www.facebook.com/hibou2

    Youtube link

    This e-mail originates from the City of Ottawa e-mail system. Any distribution, use or copying of this e-mail or the information it contains by other than the intended recipient(s) is unauthorized. If you are not the intended recipient, please notify me at the telephone number shown above or by return e-mail and delete this communication and any copy immediately. Thank you.

    Le présent courriel a été expédié par le système de courriels de la Ville d’Ottawa. Toute distribution, utilisation ou reproduction du courriel ou des renseignements qui s’y trouvent par une personne autre que son destinataire prévu est interdite. Si vous avez reçu le message par erreur, veuillez m’en aviser par téléphone (au numéro précité) ou par courriel, puis supprimer sans délai la version originale de la communication ainsi que toutes ses copies. Je vous remercie de votre collaboration.

  4. margaret says:

    Craig, I know you mean well, but do think you might need to keep a bit of your budget for at least one person in the office if only to answer phones and emails …. been there – it can get busy …. even if you plan on doing most of the work yourself
    also you might need to do some mailing at one point or are you planning on walking the ward and visiting personally
    minimum
    – Okay, I can see paying someone to help constituents if no one volunteers to do it for free as community service, but why blow tax dollars on an office when it could be done from home or on a mobile device? I’d be willing to pay a living wage to someone, I guess, but I’d have to run it by our community council first. Does $16 an hour sound about right?

  5. Jim says:

    The thing is – if you raise the minimum wage to $16 then taxes go up. You want to help people? End the sales tax to bring people out of poverty. The other thing with a living wage – some think it should be $30 to $36 per hour.

  6. m says:

    meanwhile … maybe your election blog should be different to your bellscorners one … this one is for BC on general topics … I post on a general blog .. would I want to post on an election blog ? maybe not

    – My ditzy attempt to bell the cat is just one of the thousands of Bells Corners stories that are worth covering. So I won’t let it get it the way of business as usual – I understand that most readers visit this blog for BC entertainment/information and a laugh or a sneer.

Leave a Reply

