Remembrance Day in Bells Corners


Many of our local veterans and military personnel go to the ceremonies at Centrepointe or at the National War Memorial before congregating at the Bells Corners Legion.

The gentleman above first saw action in World War 2, landing in Sicily as part of Operation Husky; he is interviewed in this video. Each medal he wears commemorates a part of his life in the Forces – a Defence of Britain medal, a NATO medal for three years in Germany, the Canadian Peacekeeping medal, a medal for spending a year in the Gaza Strip, one for serving in the military for 26 years, etc.

This local soldier wears two medals for service in Afghanistan, one for peacekeeping, one for Bosnia and one for 12 years spent in the military.

Around noon the Legion began to fill up with the people who had been at ceremonies elsewhere.

These soldiers are Cameron Highlanders – their main base is in the Cartier Drill Hall beside the canal, but they also operate out of a space in the Lynhar Plaza next to the beer store. Many years ago the Camerons had a company garrisoned in Bells Corners, so it’s fitting that they returned here recently.

Several busses transported the cadets to the Legion Hall from Centrepointe.


Others arrived by car, on foot or by bike-taxi.



The Legion Hall featured a touching tribute to local soldiers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Remembrance Day in Bells Corners

  1. Rich Littleton says:

    Nice local coverage, thank you!

  2. margaret says:

    remember the days when the Nepean service was at the Bells Corners city hall … before there was a Pizza Hut …. and I’d be there in uniform (freezing) with my Beavers and Cubs …. then it was an easy walk for the vets to the legion which was behind Harvey’s I think, and the kids went to McDs for lunch

    there also used to be a parade and fly-past on Bruin bridge – think that was started through David Pratt MP at that time as the bridge was over the vets hi way – is that still done? did see two fighter planes over McDs yesterday so maybe it is still done

    – The two CF-18s probably flew low over Bells Corners yesterday as part of their flight path after the flyby at Centrepointe. It was a pretty impressive sight. So loud! So much power! So much sophisticated technology! I’d sure hate to be in their sights.

    Anyone outside in Bells Corners at the time (and maybe even those stuck inside or in cars) must have dropped whatever they were doing to gawk at the fighter planes as they made a couple of passes.

    Maybe they tipped their wings while thundering over the General Dynamics complex (Bells Corners’ largest employer) and the Nortel campus (soon to be filled with thousands of DND workers eager to buy stuff in Bells Corners).

    I got pretty emotional at the ceremony at the legion, thinking of the courage of our veterans and the horrors of war.

    • wanderer says:

      I watched the TV coverage at the war memorial, and found it to be impressive. Went out to watch the flypast over Bells Corners too. I was in the RCAF in my youth, as was my first husband (RIP).
      Thanks for the local coverage.

      – I too found the CBC coverage impressive. I watched it along with about 25 very attentive veterans on widescreen tv at the Legion Hall.

      A VERY impressive spread was laid out for the crowd of soldiers soon to arrive.

      All in all it was my second most memorable Remembrance Day ever.

      The most poignant was several years ago when I was a special guest at the ceremonies at the Russell Legion. Awesome ceremony and reception! The courageous presence of a badly-injured local soldier, victim of a grenade attack in Afghanistan, was especially touching.

    • Jack dean says:

      Hi Margaret,
      I would love to speak with you about Branch 593 back in the day. FYI, I have been working on a Branch History Book!!! If you have anything, information or photos of the old Branch 593, it would truly be a pleasure to hear from you.

      Yours in Comradeship,

      Jack Dean
      613-435-1217

      • margaret says:

        hi Jack … really don’t have anything other than the above that would benefit … the Legion was only on the ‘edge’ of whatever I was doing – though I do remember a few people but then you already have them on your membership … good luck with the history

  3. margaret says:

    I’ve only known war at a distance. I’ve experienced its effect with shortages and food rations. I’ve seen wars destruction of people and places …. and wonder why it still happens.

    I was fortunate, I’ve never lost anyone very close and only know of a few minor injuries. My father came home in 1945 and lived a long happy life in UK, long enough to emigrate to Canada in his mid 70s and still have 15 good years with his ‘Canadian’ family, and making new friends in bells Corners …. he didn’t talk much about the war, never wore his medals but always wore a poppy.

    I pray his grandchildren and their children won’t see war face to face

    His granddaughter summed it all up this year when she called her son ‘ a symbolic poppy ‘

    she lives in Germany, she reads books and sings songs in German and English with her German-born, British-German-Canadian son … his two middle names (Franz Lewis) are from her husband’s Grandfather (on the Western Front with the SS) and her Grandfather (in the English 8th Army in Egypt) as she says, enemies for a brief period in history, now united in blood in a sweet little blond boy –

    so there in Germany – where the poppy has no meaning – she called her son ‘ a symbolic poppy ‘
    a poppy of peace in his own right

    I like that …

    I can hope

    – I’ve always considered myself lucky that I’ve never had to fight myself. I probably would have been conscripted and shipped off to Vietnam had I been born about 100 km further south. Thank you, Canada!

    I did spend a summer when I was 16 training in the militia (artillery), but thank goodness the rifles and the big guns were only firing blanks.

    • margaret says:

      my husband nearly had that problem with vietnam – he was at a university in wisconsin for a year – had a job offer, then realised he would no longer be protected by the student visitor exchange visa from the UK …. long story short …. we came north – to ottawa

      – Wise move. I know a few guys who fought in Vietnam. Afghanistan was/is no picnic, but the horrors of being a grunt fighting “Charlie” in the rice paddies? Not always fun.

Leave a Reply

